“As long as there are stars above you”

Funny, I’ve heard this song a thousand times (or so), but only just caught this verse:

And when at last I find you
Your song will fill the air
Sing it loud so I can hear you
Make it easy to be near you
For the things you do endear you to me
Oh you know I will
I will

Just about halfway through my God-given time in seminary, I’ve found to my grief and relief and consternation and satisfaction that “you” can be multiple referents on the same plane of progressive revelation, holding in tension the expectation of multiple fulfilments leading to an ultimate one that rouses up the loudest exaltation. So, thank You, hallelujah and amen.

Leave a Reply

