She didn’t wait for life to get better

So I was flipping through Barack Obama’s Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters when I came across his description of Helen Keller as someone who “didn’t wait for life to get better”.

So much poignancy, resonance, hope and inspiration in those words. I want to be someone who doesn’t put off living and loving and studying and serving with a passion until the day all things are made right. It would be a waste of a lifetime.

And that’s my deeply held ambition for my friends and family as well.

Leave a Reply

