Why Barack Obama deserved the Nobel Peace Prize

On the occasion of Barack Obama’s presidential election victory one long year ago, I would like to present the following evidence meriting his receipt of the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize:

Exhibit A

‘Every day, Barack Obama gets up and is brave,’ she said. ‘I can be brave.’

Exhibit B

slide_3303_46731_large

Michelle Obama: speaking joy to power

Exhibit C

A young black boy, no more than eight years old, walked up to this man, who was at least eighty. The boy offered the man a sticker, probably an “I Voted” sticker, but I couldn’t see. The man took the sticker and paused. Silently, he looked down at the boy, who was looking back up at the man. The man put his hand gently on the boy’s head, and I saw his eyes glisten.

I didn’t ask the man for a quote. I didn’t need to. I walked over by myself, behind the community center, and I sat down on a bench next to the track, and wept.

Exhibit D

obama+biden+sign

More than conquerors

Ergo, anyone who inspires such acts of courage, joy, love and hope deserves a prize for peace.

2 thoughts on “Why Barack Obama deserved the Nobel Peace Prize

  1. Yeah, on the basis of what the Nobel Peace Prize is supposed to mean, I don’t actually think he deserved it, but I just wanted an excuse to show off the stuff I’ve been squirreling away about him that I most love. I love that skipping rope pic too!

Leave a Reply

