Why film matters

‘I suppose every filmmaker has the naive, even pathetic dream that his film could be the one that finally stops a war,’ said [Samuel] Maoz. ‘But making this film has got me my life back and that is more precious than any award. Without fully knowing it, I have been deeply traumatised since 1982, as has a whole generation of Israelis, people who are now running the country. Making Lebanon and finally confronting what happened in that war, has given me my true feelings back and I can cry real tears once more.’

via Colin Firth wins best actor at Venice film festival | Film | The Observer.

2 thoughts on “Why film matters

Leave a Reply

