Bleeding hearts

Just about done with the creative writing course, so hazy writing days are here again! But perhaps maybe possibly not. I’m going through a growth spurt in many directions right now, and things are wondrously, joyously crazy, and I don’t think I’ll ever look at you the same way again.

Before I get back to irregular programming, it’s time to unload a bunch of chestnuts I’ve been storing in my Firefox tabs.

First one to go: remember the Columbine High School massacre in the US, which spawned Michael Moore’s Bowling for Columbine and continues to echo down the hallways of any school in any country that permits private firearms and death metal (though surely you can be a musical-loving murderer)?

Well, the awful truth about a horrific mess usually takes a while to filter through the spectacle and shock. Sometimes it takes, oh, a decade or so. If you are at all interested in what happened that day, you must read this report by Andrew Gumbel.

One of the publicised moments that stuck in my mind was about a girl who was shot when she said “yes”, when one of the killers asked her if she believed in God, while pointing a gun at her head. I recall spotting a book about her published within a year of her death. I didn’t feel anger or disappointment in God at the time, just awe at the girl’s seeming martyrdom, I guess. Now it turns out that the girl in question, Cassie Bernall, wasn’t the one who said yes to the question:

It was Valeen Schnurr, who was asked by [Dylan] Klebold, if she believed in God, and answered yes. She was then spared. If the killers hated Christians, they were distinctly uneven in how they applied that hatred.

Ah, my heart said, when I read that.

This reminds me of another sad memory: Margaret Hassan. Someone was finally convicted of her murder this year, but goodness knows if justice has really been served. I think there are still no answers as to why a woman who lived a life of service to the Iraqi people was shot in the head, point blank, for her toil.

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.

Leave a Reply

