You don’t know what you’re in for

Just found this shuffling through my iTunes library:

Single in Singapore
I may seem like a happy girl
Not a care in the whole wide world
But stands before you someone frail and shy
Who knows why

I appear very confident
But don’t ask me where my courage went
Many tell me to get out there, and
‘Just’ find me a man

It’s not easy
I feel sleazy
When I stand on corners and
Give men the eye

Single in Singapore
You don’t know what you’re in for
Just pray that someday
You’ll find who you’re looking for

Men say to me time and again
Let’s make love and then let’s stay friends
Every man I meet just wants one thing
And still no ring

I may seem self-adjusted, strong
Self-assured, Ivy (?) you are wrong
I’m a nervous wreck and you know why
Ha, I need a guy

Comes to fellows
I turn yellow
I turn pale when any male
Goes walking by

Single in Singapore
You don’t know what you’re in for
Just pray that someday
You’ll find who you’re looking for

You’ll find who you’re looking for

Worra great tune by Dick Lee, could be from the musical Beauty World, sung by I dunno who (Gracenote ain’t perfect), and got me hummin’ in spite of myself.

You know what the gahmen should do? Put on a sitcom or somesuch set in a matchmaking agency with this song as the theme toon, and/or the ringtone on the main character’s phone, and have a lesson a day on lurve in the big city (following from PM Lee II dispensing advice on aforementioned a while back) … and make sure the actor/actress is someone who can play likeable, witty and wise. Nah-more of that poserly stupidity. Nah-more of that insincere crudity. Nah-more of that cringeworthy abuse of substance.

This has got me singing all sorts of tunefully nationalistic songs in the shower!

Leave a Reply

