“Elections have consequences”

Now I know why I’ve been hesitant to call myself a “liberal”. Cos I’m not one. Not if it means being the flip side of the same coin when it comes to name-calling and bigotry. What is up with all the drama:

Obama has proved himself repeatedly to be a very tolerant, very rational-sounding sort of bigot.

Thank goodness not every self-proclaimed liberal on the planet has been so dramatic:

I disagree. I think Obama is different. I think the earnestness and sincerity of his campaign, and its generational force, have given us a chance for something new, and I fear that in responding too viscerally to the Warren choice, we may be throwing something very valuable away far too prematurely.

The straw that broke the camel’s back for me was hearing Keith Olbermann mouth off on Rick Warren, not to mention Rachel Maddow letting her anger get the better of her. And I’m a fan of them (though the scales have fallen, all right), not Warren. Haste makes waste. It’s not only the conservative types who have to adjust to the implications of a transformational presidency:

In this country, we rise or fall as one nation, as one people. Let’s resist the temptation to fall back on the same partisanship and pettiness and immaturity that has poisoned our politics for so long.

At the end of the day, of course it’s just some other country’s beeswax. But possibly because it happens to be a country that trades in ideas, a scarce commodity, I find myself beholden to its self-narratives in spite of my origins.

Anyway, in moments of high drama, I like to apply my driving instructor’s urgent advice to “look far, look far”. That is, look out to what lies ahead, instead of getting mired in the immediate details:

The thing I embrace is helping this administration be as successful as it’s going to be. Whatever we can do to help him succeed, help people understand what it is he’s trying to do. It’s going to be a wonderful time in our country.

In other words — “you gotta get that dirt off your shoulder”:

dirtoff.jpg

Leave a Reply

