Overstimulation … of the brain!

Ow, Robert Altman is dead. May he rest in peace. He gave us good times. Must definitely catch A Prairie Home Companion in gentle farewell. Chalk another entry up for that Oscars slideshow.

And, I must say, the combination of thinking book, thumping music and tingling screening is tough on the noggin’. Had such a krazy kreme of a dream last night, I was quite reluctant to wake from it. Included death, apocalypse and my savings account. Hah!

Marvellous Penguin warehouse sale over the weekend — worth the rush and the long trek from the silly parking space I chose (though the return journey was a blistering one). What I got for $155:

  1. Introducing Romanticism
  2. Introducing Walter Benjamin
  3. Introducing Anthropology
  4. Introducing Environmental Politics
  5. Introducing Melanie Klein (Why not one for Madeline Kahn? Ha!)
  6. Introducing Lacan
  7. Introducing Marx
  8. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke (Had been thinking of it following a recommendation)
  9. Girl in Landscape by Jonathan Lethem (Man, they had so much Lethem! Argh!)
  10. Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found by Suketu Mehta
  11. The Deptford Trilogy by Robertson Davies (Usually $45!!! Had an itch for Davies for some time!)
  12. Wrong About Japan: A Father’s Journey with His Son by Peter Carey (I lurve Carey’s writing, and I sure hope I don’t already have this lying around somewhere!)
  13. Julie and Julia: 365 days, 524 recipes, 1 tiny apartment kitchen by Julie Powell (Muahahahaha, Vellu!)
  14. A Brief History of Infinity by Paolo Zellini (If it’s good enough for Calvino, I can give it a stab at least)
  15. The 2 1/2 Pillars of Wisdom: The Von Igelfeld Trilogy by Alexander McCall Smith (Read it, loved it, and now I own it all for $5)
  16. 1776: America and Britain at War by David McCullough
  17. Dune by Frank Herbert
  18. The Argumentative Indian: Writings on Indian History, Culture and Identity by Amartya Sen (Mine at last! The hardcover’s mine! For one-seventh of the Borders price!)
  19. The Guerrila Girls’ Bedside Companion to the History of Western Art
  20. The Penguin Guide to Jazz on CD Seventh Edition (Boy, is it thick)
  21. and 22. were baby-care books for my cousin, hee hee

(Why does a numbered list lose my case differentiation?) Don’t think I missed anything out from the list … thought I bought 23 books in total though. Man, should have bought that DK Italian visual dictionary on hindsight as a good gift at least. Plus, I didn’t scour the children’s section properly, being pressed for time. Anyway, this was my Best. Haul. Ever. At least in terms of quality!

2 thoughts on “Overstimulation … of the brain!

Leave a Reply

