Voice of atonement

It has been a long time before I read a ‘serious’ work of fiction (as far as I can remember!). And from the same writerly pack, I’ve ever only had Martin Amis and Julian Barnes on my plate. Ian McEwan had never been near it. He’s quite a revelation, though I’m afraid I bulldozed through a few descriptive parts … only to realise that was quite possibly an intended reaction. When you’re in the hands of an artist, be prepared to get played. The last time I was truly aghast at a character was … when? Diana Wynne Jones’s Charmed Life? Read a library copy (henceforth I shall aim for that, having no more space and no more money to add space), which yielded a surprising, unintended voice to Atonement:

howtrue

I love it.

4 thoughts on “Voice of atonement

  1. I dunno, man – doesn’t it seem weird that the metaphors for guilt tend to be Catholic? (To pre-empt ANYTHING, I have absolutely nothing against Catholics and I intend to send my yet-to-be born son and daughter to Catholic schools)… Amsterdam – I think I read the book before but for the life of me, I can’t remember anything about it.

  2. Pingback: Strength in numbers « The Frothy Tome

Leave a Reply

